menet

Advanced Member

• Members
  • 336 posts
  • Extension Developer: No
  • Translator for French (fr)

Posted 10 March 2007 - 07:55 AM

Hi,

I want to know if the use of UNICODE escape characters (\uXXXX where XXXX is a character code) is always mandatory for the properties files like it is noted there on http://developer.mozilla.org/ ?

I am a French translator of the new extension in BabelZilla : Secure Login. This is the link for its topic
Its creator, Sebastian Tschan (madblueimp), takes our translation files (coded in UTF-8 without BOM) and transform the properties files with native2ascii utility to have then only ASCII characters (escape characters added) inside the XPI file.
Then later when I want to compare my translation files with the files inside the XPI, the properties file is always different.

With the others extensions for which I am the translator, I have not the problem.
With this extension I can put my properties file coded in UTF-8 inside the XPI and it works also well. cool.gif

Does this information about developer.mozilla.org is false because old and should be updated ?
Or it is always good for others languages (jp, ch,...)

unsure.gif I have seen a message about that from victory which quote Axel HERE, but I don't know if it is only about the WTS ?

Thanks for your reply. Menet. wink.gif

#2 Goofy

Goofy

Advanced Member

• Super Mod
  • 8,435 posts

• Extension Developer: Yes
  • Extensions: BabelZillaMenu-BabelZilla Glossary-OpenTran...
  • My OS Gnu/Linux
  • Translation Credits to Goofy

Posted 10 March 2007 - 09:30 AM

Its creator, Sebastian Tschan (madblueimp), takes our translation files (coded in UTF-8 without BOM) and transform the properties files with native2ascii utility to have then only ASCII characters (escape characters added) inside the XPI file.
Then later when I want to compare my translation files with the files inside the XPI, the properties file is always different.